This weekend I spent much quality time in a room with 20 other dance-writerly humans.  The thINKingDANCE consortium “is a one year project (Oct 2011 – Oct 2012) that captures the dance activity of in the Philadelphia area through written reviews, essays, and online commentary.”  Our first seminar was a three-day affair with the legendary dance critic Elizabeth Zimmer.  I went to two thought-provoking thirdbird performances at Christ Church Neighborhood House, then workshopped twenty reviews with a group of passionate artists: intense and energizing.

On Sunday night, I launched SLEIGHT at the beautiful L’Etage.  I cannot possibly name all the amazing friends and family who showed up to offer support, but I can say how much it meant to me.  My brother Misha Kaschock and the lovely Sara Rose Bryant (who teach yoga here, Harrisburgers), set the stage (and my dining room table) with their culinary, musical, and sister-soothing talents.  Their soundscape was haunting, perfect.  I was, as always, amazed by the loveliness of Jessica Warchal-King, who brought blood and sinew and grace into the evening with her movement.

I am reading again this week at the Big Blue Marble bookstore in Mt. Airy on Thursday evening.  If you have a free moment, please consider joining me.

